An official website of the United States government

Health Alert: Cyprus (June 3) Easing of Airport Restrictions and Available Departing Flight
June 3, 2020

Location: Cyprus

Event: Health Alert— Easing of airport restrictions and departing flights.

The U.S. Embassy is aware of the following flight departing Cyprus:

Cyprus Airways

June 6:  Larnaca to Frankfurt (departs LCA 14:00, arrives FRA 17:10).

Tickets may be purchased directly from Cyprus Airways:  https://www.cyprusairways.com

Transit through Frankfurt is possible for U.S. citizens and lawful permanent residents.  Please visit U.S. Embassy Germany’s COVID-19 webpage with information on airports, hotels, and travel information: https://de.usembassy.gov/covid-19-information/

This is a commercially-operated flight and is only available for those residing in the Republic of Cyprus.  Travelers are responsible for arranging and purchasing follow-on tickets to the United States and must have follow-on tickets to board.  Please email CyprusUSCitizen@state.gov if you book a ticket on this flight.

Easing of travel restrictions in the Republic of Cyprus:

The Government of the Republic of Cyprus has announced the gradual easing of restrictions on flights to and from Larnaka and Paphos Airports.  The plan to reopen the airports has two phases.

PHASE 1:              Beginning June 9, 2020

PHASE 2:              Beginning June 20, 2020

Flights will initially be permitted to arrive from 19 countries which have, in turn, been separated into two categories.  The list of countries is evaluated weekly and countries can be added and removed based on the latest data available.

Category A:  Greece, Malta, Bulgaria, Norway, Austria, Finland, Slovenia, Hungary, Israel, Denmark, Germany, Slovakia, Lithuania.

Category B:  Switzerland, Poland, Romania, Croatia, Estonia, and the Czech Republic.

During Phase 1, all travelers to the Republic of Cyprus from Category A and B countries must present proof of a negative COVID-19 PCR test conducted within 72 hours prior to departure to be allowed to board the flight.  For people traveling from countries in Category A or B where PCR testing is not widely available, compulsory testing will be required upon arrival at Cyprus airports. The traveler will be responsible for the cost of testing (approximately 60 Euros).

During Phase 2, which commences on 20 June, only passengers arriving in the Republic of Cyprus from a Category B country will require proof of a negative PCR COVID-19 test conducted within 72 hours before departure.


During Phase 1 and Phase 2, a person seeking to travel to the Republic of Cyprus cannot have traveled to, or lived in, a country other than those included in Category A and B, in the 14 days prior to travel.  This means U.S. citizens will not be able to travel to the Republic of Cyprus if they have been in the United States, or any other country not classed as a Category A or B country, in the two weeks before travel to Cyprus.  Those U.S. citizens who have been present in a Category A or B country for 14 days prior to travel to Cyprus will face the same requirements as other travelers coming from those countries.

Full information on the requirements to travel to the Republic of Cyprus can be found here.

For more information regarding the Republic of Cyprus’ policies toward mitigating the spread of COVID-19 and the recent lifting of various restrictions, please visit our webpage:  https://cy.usembassy.gov/covid-19-information/

Actions to Take:


+357 2239-3939 (after hours; wait for recorded message, then press 0)

Email: ACSNicosia@state.gov

888-407-4747 or 202-501-4444

If you have departed Cyprus and no longer wish to receive these messages, click here.